Ted Blowers
Get to know

Ted Blowers

Junior Product Consultant

Q & A with Ted Blowers

In our series of ‘meet the team’ interviews, we chat with Ted Blowers, Junior Product Consultant.

Tell us a little about yourself

I currently live in Cowes, on the Isle of Wight, just a short hour hop on the ferry, where I have also had the privilege to grow up here during my younger and teenage years. I have always had an interest in communications, technology, and socialising, as well as a passion for Engineering and Mathematics at school and University. I graduated from the University of Plymouth with First Class Honours in Marine Engineering in June 2020. Prior to Alliants, I had gained a fair amount of experience in the marine industry, in a variety of different roles.

What attracted you to join Alliants?

Alliants are involved with some really interesting projects, and for me, the main attraction was the technology aspects of the company. I have a passion for technology and am always looking to develop my knowledge and understanding in this industry. On top of that, the people here are extremely friendly and welcoming, this was instantly visible during the interview process!

What are some of your passions?

Outside of Alliants, you will mainly find me on the water in some shape or form, perks of living on an island some would say! My main go-to activity is sailboat racing, specifically in a discipline known as match racing, where my GBR team is currently ranked 44th in the world, in front of thousands of other teams, something that I am really proud of and always looking to develop. Outside of racing, I regularly participate in windfoiling and windsurfing, kitesurfing, surfing, and many other water activities! Even just a day at the beach is great.

Who has been the biggest influence in your career?

Due to my limited overall industry experience at this stage, it is hard to say exactly who at this point has had a major impact on my career. My parents have individually driven me to achieve and aim high at everything I do. My mum was great at directing and assisting me in my studies, right through from GCSEs to the day I graduated from university, with my dad helping me in the marine industry and competitive sailing, wherewith his help I have managed to achieve a fair amount of respectable contacts and sailing results, something I will always be grateful to both of them for.

What is a great day off for you?

This might feel like a repeat of the ‘My Passions’ section! Typically a day at the beach doing all of those water activities, keeping up and active, and most of the time, remaining occupied. If the wind or good weather goes AWOL, then certainly a day with friends is always appreciated, with places such as pubs, cafes and friends houses always receiving a visit.

What’s been your best travel experience?

I have been really lucky to have visited a lot of places at such a young age, my parents again were always great at giving us plenty of different experiences. I think the most recent trip which we managed to fit in before COVID hit was when we went to the 2020 Youth Sailing World Championships in Auckland, New Zealand. I had never been before, but as soon as we touched down in Auckland, you could just tell how amazing it is there, with the people so friendly, great weather, and unbelievable sites on both the north and south shores, I’ll certainly be going again when allowed!

Your best travel tip?

My best travel tip would be to get cards like Monzo and Revolut, got to be involved with those decent exchange rates! Before I had these, I completely forgot to get money out, so I spent money on my debit card as usual and suffered the consequences of the exchange rates… Never again!

No items found.